Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sheffield City Hall
Barker's Pool
South Yorkshire
S1 2JA


Jean SibeliusLemminkäinen's Return, Op.22 no.4
Antonín DvořákCello Concerto in B minor, Op.104, B.191
~ Interval ~
Johannes BrahmsSymphony no.4 in E minor, Op.98


Karl-Heinz Steffens – Conductor
Laura van der Heijden – cello

The Hallé

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The Hallé opens our season with Laura van der Heijden and Karl-Heinz Steffens for what is simply the greatest cello concerto of them all, that of Dvorák. Packed with both melodies and virtuosity, when Brahms heard it for the first time he was astonished, wishing he could have written it himself.

After the interval is Brahms’s Fourth Symphony, his greatest achievement in orchestral music. Its finale, a magnificent set of variations, is perhaps the most remarkable part of this most remarkable and moving work. The concert begins with the rousing homecoming of Sibelius's legendary hero, Lemminkäinen’s Return.

Laura van der Heijden

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.