Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sheffield City Hall
Barker's Pool
South Yorkshire
S1 2JA


Bedřich SmetanaThe Bartered Bride: Overture
Frédéric ChopinPiano Concerto no.1 in E minor, Op.11
~ Interval ~
Antonín DvořákSymphony no.9 in E minor 'From the New World', Op.95


Heiko Mathias Förster – Conductor
Nikolai Demidenko – piano

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Who better to perform two great Czech signature works than the Czech National Symphony Orchestra? The overture Smetana composed for his comic opera The Bartered Bride simply bursts with exuberance and energy and is the perfect opener for any concert. Nikolai Demidenko, long admired by British audiences, is soloist in Chopin’s Concerto; inspired by a love affair, it is both lyrical and virtuosic.

The orchestra returns to its homeland with Dvorák’s Ninth Symphony, one of the most beloved works in the repertoire. Composed in America, this richly melodic piece absorbed the influence of American folk music but also conveys deep nostalgia for its composer’s homeland.

Nikolai Demidenko- Piano Soloist

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.