Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sheffield City Hall
Barker's Pool
South Yorkshire
S1 2JA


Dmitry ShostakovichFestive Overture in A major, Op.96
Sergei ProkofievViolin Concerto no.2, Op.63
~ Interval ~
Nikolay Rimsky-KorsakovCapriccio Espagnol
Sergei RachmaninovSymphonic Dances, Op.45


Thomas Sanderling – Conductor
Alexander Sitkovetsky – violin

Russian Philharmonic of Novosibirsk

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The Siberian capital's orchestra is no stranger to these shores, and Thomas Sanderling completes this season’s exciting trilogy of all-Russian concerts with a programme that opens with Shostakovich’s ebullient Festive Overture, one of its composer’s happiest creations. Alexander Sitkovetsky, a violinist of both brilliant technique and natural musicianship, is then soloist in Prokofiev’s G minor Concerto, with its slow movement of ravishing beauty.

As well as being full of Spanish colours and dance rhythms, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espanol is a study in virtuoso orchestration. So too are Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances. In them, the composer’s rich musical imagination was stimulated by the different phases of man’s life: ‘Noon’, ‘Evening’ and ‘Midnight’. The results are simply stunning.

Alexander Sitkovetsky- Violin Soloist

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.