Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sheffield City Hall
Barker's Pool
South Yorkshire
S1 2JA


Johannes BrahmsVariations on a Theme by Haydn, Op.56b (two pianos)
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartPiano Concerto no.22 in E-flat major, K.482
~ Interval ~
Carl NielsenSymphony no.5, Op.50


Johannes Debus – Conductor
Pavel Kolesnikov – piano

The Hallé

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Johannes Debus begins with Brahms’s colourful variations on Haydn’s ‘St Anthony Chorale’. He is joined by the young piano virtuoso Pavel Kolesnikov, winner of the prestigious Honens Prize 2014, for one of Mozart’s most memorably lyrical and sunny piano concertos.

Nielsen’s astonishing Fifth Symphony darkens the mood. The composer saw it as ‘the division of dark and light, the battle between evil and good’. A militaristic side-drum threatens to derail the orchestra before a dawn of hope emerges and eventually triumphs. One of the great symphonies, not to be missed.

Pavel Kolesnikov- Piano Soloist

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.