Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Venue - Leeds College of Music
Quarry Hill


Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Sonata no.30 in E major, Op.109
Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Sonata no.31 in A flat major, Op.110
Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Sonata no.32 in C minor, Op.111


Paul Lewis – piano

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Paul writes: “Despite my intention to be as wide ranging and inclusive as possible, I make no apology for devoting an entire programme to Beethoven, the great innovator and master of the sonata. His inal triptych of piano sonatas is undeniably one of the great peaks of the entire piano repertoire, and remains one of the most intellectually and emotionally challenging programmes for performers. The depth of expression and originality of these late works still, almost 200 years after their composition, has the ability to astonish, unsettle, and move us in the most powerfully heartfelt way.”

Beethoven’s 32 piano sonatas, spanning 28 years of his career, cemented the form as a staple of the concert hall. The great conductor Hans von Bülow labelled them ‘The New Testament of Music’ (Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier being the Old Testament). Beethoven’s sonatas form a bridge between both the private home and the concert hall, and between the Classical and Romantic eras.

Paul Lewis

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.