Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Venue - Leeds College of Music
Quarry Hill


Maurice RavelSonata for Violin and Cello
Pyotr TchaikovskyPiano Trio, Op.50
Alban BergPiano Sonata, Op.1


Antje Weithaas – violin
Bjørg Lewis – cello
Aleksandar Madžar – piano

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The final recital of the series brings an exploration of pieces derived and developed from small kernels of musical material.

Ravel’s Sonata for Violin and Cello was dedicated to the memory of Debussy and is a study in Debussy’s idea of depouillement (economy of means). The sonata is reduced to just two instruments and the music is developed from two initial themes.

Berg’s sonata consists of just one movement which follows the traditional sonata form of exposition, development and recapitulation. The thematic material however, follows Schoenberg’s idea of ‘developing variation’ in which all the material for the piece is developed from a single idea, ensuring unity throughout the piece. As in Ravel’s work all the material for Berg’s sonata is derived from two opening figures.

Antje Weithaas

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.