Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Venue - Leeds College of Music
Quarry Hill


Nikolay MedtnerSonata Reminiscenza
Sergey ProkofievPiano Sonata no.8, Op.84
Sergey ProkofievPastoral Sonatina
Dmitry ShostakovichPiano Sonata no.2 in B minor, Op.61


Georgy Tchaidze – piano

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Georgy’s recital explores the contrasting responses of three composers living and working in Russia in the irst half of the twentieth century. He writes: “Three very different composers – Medtner, Shostakovich and Prokoiev – each of them with their very own way of expression, unique vision of music and style. There are more differences between them than similarities, but all of them were living at the same time, facing the same historical moments: the October Revolution, Civil War, emigration (Prokoiev and Medtner), the ruin of the old world, great terror and inally the Second World War. Great tragedy and great art all at the same time.”

Medtner’s Sonata Reminiscenza was written in 1920, the year before he emigrated. Shostakovich composed his Second Piano Sonata in 1943 between his Seventh (Leningrad) and Eight Symphonies, whilst Prokofiev’s Eight Piano Sonata (the third of three ‘War Sonatas’) was completed in 1944.


Georgy Tchaidze

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.