Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Venue - Leeds College of Music
Quarry Hill


Franz SchubertPiano Sonata no.14 in A minor, D.784
Leoš JanáčekPiano Sonata 1.X.1905 'From the Street'
Domenico ScarlattiSix Piano Sonatas
Aleksandr ScriabinPiano Sonata no.5, Op.53


Alasdair Beatson – piano

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Alasdair writes of a recital highlighting the variety of form and feeling to be found within the sonata form: “From the inventive, jewel-like miniatures of Scarlatti to the vast emotional and dramatic span of Schubert, quite diferent beasts may lurk behind the generic ‘sonata’ title. Janáček’s Sonata 1 X 1905 From the Street is an outpouring of grief and anger at the violent death of a protestor in Brno, whilst Scriabin seems to discover new heights of euphoria in his intoxicating, sensual and ecstatic fifth sonata.”

The sonatas chosen for this recital illustrate the developments in form used for sonatas across the years. Scarlatti, a very proliic sonata composer with 555 examples to his name, wrote concise single movement works, whilst Schubert’s Piano Sonata No 14 is a classic example of the three movement formula of the Classical and Romantic eras. Into the twentieth century and Janáček’s descriptive sonata features two movements and Scriabin’s Fifth Piano Sonata is expressed in one single movement, “a big poem for piano” as the composer described it.

Alasdair Beatson

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.