Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Assembly Hall
Stoke Abbott Road
West Sussex
BN11 1HQ


Robert SchumannSymphony no.1 'Spring', Op.38
Edmund RubbraSymphony No 4, Op. 52 (1942)
César FranckVariations symphoniques
Frédéric ChopinAndante spianato et Grande polonaise brillante, Op.22


Idil Biret – piano
John Gibbons – Conductor

Worthing Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Acclaimed Turkish Pianist Idil Biret performs two great piano works often neglected in the concert hall: Cesar Franck's Symphonic Variations and Chopin's Andante Spianato et Grande Polonaise Brillante, known as the haunting music in Roman Polanski's The Pianist. Schumann's Spring Symphony is a genial, energetic and attractive work bursting with high spirits and melodic inspiration. It is followed by Edmund Rubbra’s unjustly neglected beautiful Fourth Symphony. Rubbra is one of Britain's best but rarely performed composers of the mid-twentieth century.

Idil Biret (piano)

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.