Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Assembly Hall
Stoke Abbott Road
West Sussex
BN11 1HQ


Wolfgang Amadeus MozartViolin Concerto no.5 in A major 'Turkish', K.219
Anton ArenskyVariations on a Theme of Tchaikovsky, Op.35a
Edvard GriegLyric Pieces, Op.68
Antonín DvořákSerenade for Strings, Op.22
Joseph HaydnSymphony no.43 in E flat major 'Mercury', Hob.I:43


Boris Brovtsyn – violin
John Gibbons – Conductor

Worthing Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

We are thrilled to welcome back WSO favourite Boris Brovtsyn whose dazzling virtuosity must be seen to be believed. Mozart's Fifth Violin Concerto is the most brilliant of the set and reflects the vogue in 1775 for all things Turkish.  Anton Arensky based his Variations for strings on Tchaikovsky's 'Crown of Roses' whilst another great string masterpiece Dvorak's Serenade for Strings was composed in twelve days just before his famous Slavonic Dances. Haydn's Mercury Symphony is full of energy and dates from his Sturm und Drang period.

Boris Brovtsyn (violin)

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.