Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Assembly Hall
Stoke Abbott Road
West Sussex
BN11 1HQ


Richard WagnerDie Walk├╝re, WWV 86B: Ride of the Valkyries
Modest MussorgskyPictures at an Exhibition
William AlwynPiano Concerto no.1
Maurice RavelPiano Concerto in G major


Arta Arnicane – piano
John Gibbons – Conductor

Worthing Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

A spectacular concert to close the season with a welcome return from Arta Arnicane, winner of the First Sussex International Piano Competition, in Ravel's jazz-inspired display concerto written ‘in the spirit of Mozart and Saint-Saëns’ with more than a nod to Gershwin. The concert opens with Wagner's extraordinary depiction of the Valkyries – an imagery given a new twist in the film Apocalypse Now. Ravel's orchestration of Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition is a tour-de-force and concludes with the splendidly sonorous 'Great Gate of Kiev’.

Arta Arnicane

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.