Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Assembly Hall
Stoke Abbott Road
West Sussex
BN11 1HQ


Doreen CarwithenO. D. T. A. A. Overture
William WaltonCello Concerto
Felix MendelssohnA Midsummer Night's Dream, overture, Op.21
Igor StravinskyThe Firebird Suite, 1919: Finale
Giacomo PucciniManon Lescaut
Edward ElgarSalut d'amour, Op.12


Leonard Elschenbroich – cello
John Gibbons – Conductor

Worthing Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Love is in the air as we welcome back sensational cellist, Leonard Elschenbroich performing Walton's cello concerto, a work inspired by Walton’s love for his wife Susana. The theme of love continues with Puccini’s first great operatic success Manon Lescaut. The concert also features a rarely performed work by British female composer Doreen Carwithen, herOverture O.D.T.A.A. premiered in Covent Garden in 1947, and concludes with Stravinsky's first great ballet masterpiece The Firebird Suite – currently one of the BBC's Ten Pieces for Primary Children.

Leonard Elschenbroich (cello)

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.