Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sheldonian Theatre
Broad Street


Wolfgang Amadeus MozartClarinet Concerto in A major, K.622
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartRequiem in D minor, K.626


Mark Simpson – clarinet
Owen Rees – Conductor

Choir of The Queen's College, Oxford

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Left incomplete upon his untimely death aged thirty-five, Mozart'€™s Requiem is shrouded in mystery and intrigue. Joined by four leading soloists and the distinguished Choir of The Queen's College, the Requiem integrates archaic forms with divine classicism - the last words Mozart set to music marking 'that day of tears and mourning'™. The Orchestra first welcomes back Mark Simpson, Oxford alumnus and 2006 BBC Young Musician of the Year, for the uplifting Clarinet Concerto.

Supported by Anita Higham OBE in memory of Donald Higham MA., MEd., whose love of music and of its power to give joy and inspiration to the young was deeply felt.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.