Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sheldonian Theatre
Broad Street


Wolfgang Amadeus MozartConcertone in C major, K.190/186E
Ludwig van BeethovenSymphony no.4 in B flat major, Op.60
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartViolin Concerto no.5 in A major 'Turkish', K.219


Maxim Vengerov – violin
Natalia Lomeiko – violin
Marios Papadopoulos – Conductor

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Maxim Vengerov returns to the Oxford Philharmonic as soloist in immortal violin works by Mozart. Joined first by Concertmaster Natalia Lomeiko for the spirited Concertone of 1774, Vengerov then performs the Violin Concerto No. 5 - an evocation of the elite Turkish Janissary soldiers of the Ottoman sultans'€™ infantry. Amid the groundbreaking catharsis of Beethoven'€™s symphonic oeuvre, the classically contained power of the fourth symphony yields a finale of joy and elation.

Supported by Sir Victor and Lady Blank & Dr John and Baroness Ruth Deech

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.