Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sheldonian Theatre
Broad Street


George Frideric HandelSolomon, HWV 67: Arrival of the Queen of Sheba
George Frideric HandelWater Music Suite no.3 in G major, HWV 350
Johann Sebastian BachBrandenburg Concerto no.4 in G major, BWV 1049
Antonio VivaldiViolin Concerto in E flat major 'La Tempesta di Mare', RV 253
Johann Sebastian BachConcerto for Violin and Oboe in C minor, BWV 1060R
Georg Philipp TelemannOuverture-Suite, TWV 55:c3


Marios Papadopoulos – Conductor

The Soloists of the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

From stormy seas to royal sojourns down the Thames, Baroque composers illustrated waterscapes of all kinds. Alongside concerti grossi by Bach, Marios Papadopoulos directs the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra in an evening of maritime-inspired gems from the eighteenth century.

Supported by the Friends and Patrons of the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.