Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall
University of York
YO10 5DD


Carl Philipp Emanuel BachSonata in C major, Wq.73
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartViolin Sonata in E minor, K.304/300c
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartViolin Sonata in A major, K.305/293d
Ludwig van BeethovenViolin Sonata no.5 in F major 'Spring', Op.24


Lucy Russell – violin
Sezi Seskir – fortepiano

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

A member of the Fitzwilliam String Quartet and an alumna of the University, celebrated British violinist Lucy Russell divides her time between performing on period instruments and their modern counterparts. She is joined by renowned Polish and British musician and winner of the Musica Brittanica prize, Pawel Siwczak. Their programme takes you on a sonic journey to Vienna and Berlin, exploring the distinctive musical styles of these cities in the eighteenth century. The duo combines CPE Bach's melancholic sonata in C minor and Mozart's exuberant Sonata in A with Beethoven's sublime 'Spring' sonata and Mozart's highly personal Sonata in E minor.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.