Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St George's Bristol
Great George Street


Ludwig van BeethovenCoriolan Overture, Op.62
Joseph HaydnCello Concerto no.1 in C major, Hob.VIIb:1
~ Interval ~
Felix MendelssohnA Midsummer Night's Dream, Op.61: Nocturne
Sergei ProkofievViolin Concerto no.2, Op.63


Nicola Benedetti – violin
Laura van der Heijden – cello
Alpesh Chauhan – Conductor

Bristol Ensemble

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

In the 40th anniversary year of the BBC Young Musician competition, we are delighted to launch the new season – and celebrate the new St George’s building – with two previous winners. Laura van der Heijden, winner in 2012 and now 21, shows her impressive maturity with Hadyn’s C major concerto. After the interval, the 2004 winner Nicola Benedetti makes a welcome return to St George’s for Prokofiev’s 2nd violin concerto with rising star conductor Alpesh Chauhan and the Bristol Ensemble.

Nicola Benedetti

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.