Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St George's
Great George Street


Tansy DaviesResiduum
Benjamin BrittenLachrymae for viola and piano, Op.48a
John WoolrichUlysses Awakes
Franz SchubertString Quartet no.14 in D minor 'Death and the Maiden', D.810


12 Ensemble

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

A bold, versatile and virtuosic ensemble, the unconducted group is built around a core of twelve of London’s finest chamber musicians – all bringing the excitement and creativity of a string quartet to this larger body of players.

Reborn, their bold new programme for 2018, explores how the old gives birth to the new: archaic ideas are given strikingly modern relevance through great artists influencing and inspiring one another. Tansy Davies’ brilliant Residuum is a thrilling work for strings inspired by John Dowling’s Lachrimae, the same work on which Britten based his own Lachrymae. In a cross-collaboration with choreographer Alexander Whitley, the ensemble have created a mesmerising film to accompany Woolrich’s Ulysses Awakes, screened behind them as they perform. And to end the programme, one of the greatest works written, Schubert’s Death & the Maiden, arranged here for string orchestra.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.