Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Barbican Hall
Silk Street


Richard StraussTod und Verklärung, Op.24
Helen GrimeTrumpet Concerto
~ Interval ~
Joel JärventaustaSunfall
Francisco CollViolin Concerto
Richard StraussTill Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, Op.28


François-Xavier Roth – Conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaja – violin
Hakan Hardenberger – trumpet

London Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The future starts here, as Håkan Hardenberger and Patricia Kopatchinskaja join François-Xavier Roth for a concert that pairs Richard Strauss with three 21st-century premieres.

The young Richard Strauss was a risk-taker – a musical innovator so dizzyingly irreverent that even his own father sometimes thought he’d gone too far. Here two of Strauss’ most audacious early masterpieces frame premieres by three of the brightest musical imaginations working right here, right now.

So Håkan Hardenberger – arguably the greatest living classical trumpeter – premieres the new concerto by Helen Grime: one of those composers whose name alone guarantees something utterly original. There’s a solar-powered new showpiece by Joel Järventausta, a student of George Benjamin. Francisco Coll, meanwhile, is a painter well as a musician, and his Violin Concerto was created especially for Patricia Kopatchinskaja. ‘You can only win the freedoms you dare to take,’ she says, and this new concerto will liberate her to be her untrammelled self.

François-Xavier Roth – Conductor

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.