Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Barbican Hall
Silk Street


Unsuk ChinViolin Concerto no.2 'Scherben der Stille' (world premiere)
Béla BartókThe Miraculous Mandarin
Jean SibeliusSymphony no.7 in C major, Op.105


Leonidas Kavakos – violin
Sir Simon Rattle – Conductor

London Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The 2020s meet the 1920s, as Sir Simon Rattle conducts Sibelius, Bartók, and the world premiere of Unsuk Chin’s new Violin Concerto. 

A new year, and a brand-new masterpiece from Unsuk Chin, the poetic, dazzlingly original musical mind behind the opera Alice in Wonderland. She’s called it Shards of Silence, and it prepares the way for a musical journey back to the 1920s – when Sibelius and Bartók found equally astonishing, equally uncompromising new ways of listening to the world. 

This is Chin’s second violin concerto. Her first is already a modern classic, and she hadn’t planned to write another – but when she heard the playing of Leonidas Kavakos, she broke her own rule. Naturally, he’s the soloist for tonight’s world-premiere performance, and since history demands context (even while you’re making it) Sir Simon Rattle completes the programme with Sibelius’ Seventh Symphony and Bartók’s brutal, brilliant Miraculous Mandarin Suite. 


Photo of violinist Leonidas Kakavos.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.