Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Barbican Hall
Silk Street


Joseph HaydnSymphony no.86 in D major, Hob.I:86
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartPiano Concerto no.18 in B-flat major, K.456
~ Interval ~
George GershwinCuban Overture
John AdamsI Still Dance
George GershwinAn American in Paris


Sir Simon Rattle – Conductor
Imogen Cooper – Piano

London Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

High spirits and summer sun, as Sir Simon Rattle kicks up his heels in music by Haydn, Mozart, and Gershwin – and introduces the latest showstopper from John Adams.

‘The world is always better with Haydn,’ says Sir Simon Rattle, and tonight the exuberance and wit of Haydn’s 86th Symphony is merely the curtain-raiser for an all-laughing, all-dancing concert of Mozart, Gershwin and John Adams: music that spans three centuries without losing its smile.

After all, you’re never far from a party with George Gershwin, and tonight he takes to the dancefloor, first in Havana and then in Paris. But good times are meant to be shared, so we’re delighted to welcome the great Imogen Cooper, in a concerto that shows Mozart at his most brilliant, as well as his most poignant. And there’s a swinging, sizzling new postcard from America from another old friend of the LSO, John Adams.

Sir Simon Rattle and the LSO

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.