Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Barbican Hall
Silk Street


George StevensonVanishing City
Pyotr TchaikovskyViolin Concerto, Op.35
~ Interval ~
Sergei ProkofievSymphony no.5 in B flat major, Op.100


Janine Jansen – violin
Gianandrea Noseda – Conductor

London Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Gianandrea Noseda conducts Prokofiev’s ‘symphony of the greatness of the human spirit’, and Janine Jansen is the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s hugely popular Violin Concerto.

Put aside all thoughts of turmoil and angst; Tchaikovsky wrote his Violin Concerto by the shores of Lake Geneva, surrounded by people he loved – and you can tell. Janine Jansen is one of the LSO’s most welcome regular guests and Gianandrea Noseda follows her performance in grand style, with a truly epic Russian symphony.

In fact, it’s said that at the Moscow premiere in 1945, Prokofiev couldn’t begin his Fifth Symphony until an artillery barrage had fallen silent. This is music of iron and steel, and LSO Principal Guest Conductor Gianandrea Noseda is passionate about it. First, though, he puts down a marker for the future, with a new, Russian-inspired orchestral work by George Stevenson - a rising star of the LSO’s Panufnik Composers Scheme.

Janine Jansen – violin

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.