Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Barbican Hall
Silk Street


Julian AndersonExiles: Suite
Gustav MahlerBlumine
Hans RottSymphony no.1 in E Major
~ Interval ~
Anton Webern6 Pieces for Large Orchestra, Op.6
Antonín DvorakSymphony no.7 in D minor, Op.70


Sir Simon Rattle – Conductor
Siobhan Stagg – Soprano
Simon Halsey – chorus director

London Symphony Chorus
London Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Sir Simon Rattle conducts Mahler, Dvořák, Webern and Hans Rott, as well as a new suite from Julian Anderson’s Exiles. Five very different musical voices – but the stories they tell are universal.

No music – no human life – exists in a vacuum. The poets who inspired Julian Anderson’s Exiles wrote in order to communicate, even in isolation. Tonight, under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle, they raise the curtain on a programme of music that’s bursting to say something new: from the ferment of late-Romantic Vienna to Antonin Dvořák’s symphonic cri de coeur.

Dvořák wrote his Seventh Symphony while mourning the death of a child. Impassioned, defiant and glowing with melody, it’s one of those pieces that wrestles hope from tragedy, and it’s long been a special favourite of Sir Simon’s. Meanwhile the young Mahler and his forgotten friend Hans Rott search for their own voices, and Anton Webern finds his, in the jewel-like, emotionally charged miniatures that make up his Six Pieces.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.