Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Leeds Town Hall
The Headrow


Richard StraussDon Juan, Op.20
Antonín DvořákSymphony no.8, Op.88
Dmitry ShostakovichCello Concerto no.2, Op.126


Alisa Weilerstein – cello

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Music by Strauss, Shostakovich and Dvořák.

"Gentlemen, in Bohemia the trumpets never call to battle – they always call to the dance!" Rafael Kubelik on the finale of Dvořák's Symphony No 8

Booking Dates:
Booking for existing subscribers retaining seats: Mon 8 June – Fri 3 July 2015
Booking for new subscribers: Mon 20 July 2015
General booking: from Saturday 22 August 2015 
Pre-concert talk 6.45pm
Albert Room
Dan Holden discusses the evening’s works.
Entry is free to ticket-holders for the concert but space is limited so please arrive early to avoid disappointment.

© Harold Hoffman

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.