Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Jorg WidmannArmonica
Robert SchumannViolin Concerto in D minor, WoO 23
~ Interval ~
Jean SibeliusThe Tempest - Prelude
Carl NielsenSymphony no.5


Christa Schönfeldinger – glass harmonica
Teodoro Anzellotti – accordian
John Storgårds – Conductor
Thomas Zehetmair – violin

BBC Philharmonic

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

John Storgårds was the first Finnish violinist to record Schumann’s unusual Violin Concerto, but he now steps to the podium, making way for Austrian violinist Thomas Zehetmair.

Surrounding Schumann’s gem of a concerto are the first UK performance of Jörg Widmann’s ethereal Armonica, the storm-tossed Prelude from Sibelius’s eerie depiction of Shakespeare’s island realm and Carl Nielsen’s landmark symphonic vision of good’s triumph over evil.

Prom 23

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.