Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Béla BartókDance Suite
Malcolm HayesViolin Concerto
~ Interval ~
Antonín DvořákSymphony No 7 in D minor


Thomas Søndergård – Conductor
Tai Murray – violin

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

When the London Philharmonic Society asked Dvořák for a new symphony in 1884, the composer knew he had to deliver something special. In the resulting Seventh, the doubts and frustrations Dvořák experienced as a composer are defeated by music that triumphs compellingly over its own nervous energy, bursting into radiant brightness in its final bars.

Tonight, Dvořák’s most fascinating symphony is heard after Malcolm Hayes’s new concerto, a work inspired by the mood and atmosphere of the Outer Hebrides, and performed by former BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist Tai Murray. Bartók’s colourful Dance Suite, featuring Hungarian and Arabic folk melodies, opens the concert.

Prom 35

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.