Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Pyotr Ilyich TchaikovskyThe Tempest
Anthony PayneOf Land, Sea and Sky
~ Interval ~
Max BruchViolin Concerto no. 1 in G minor
Ralph Vaughan WilliamsToward the Unknown Region


Sir Andrew Davis – Conductor
Ray Chen – violin

BBC Symphony Orchestra
BBC Symphony Chorus

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Vaughan Williams’s Toward the Unknown Region was his first large-scale masterpiece, setting the visionary words of Walt Whitman.

Sir Andrew Davis also conducts Tchaikovsky’s swashbuckling The Tempest and the first performance of Anthony Payne’s Of Land, Sea and Sky. Bruch’s radiant First Violin Concerto completes the programme.

Prom 15

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.