Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Matthias PintscherReflections on Narcissus
~ Interval ~
Felix MendelssohnA Midsummer Night's Dream, incidental music, Op.61


Alisa Weilerstein – cello
Matthias Pintscher – Conductor
Katherine Broderick – Soprano
Clara Mouriz – mezzo-soprano
Bijan Sheibani – stage director

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Finchley Childrens Music Group

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Narcissus, the Thespian hunter who fell in love with his own image, inspired Matthias Pintscher to compose his own reflection on ‘the interaction of different groups and their mirror images’, a work for cello and orchestra. Pintscher conducts Reflections on Narcissus here before a semi-staged performance of Mendelssohn’s incidental music to A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

Mendelssohn’s delicate, mercurial and strident music is interspersed with excerpts from Shakespeare’s text to form a centrepiece of this season’s celebrations of Shakespeare’s 400th anniversary.

Prom 48

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.