Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Sergei ProkofievScythian Suite
Pyotr Ilyich TchaikovskyPiano Concerto No 1 in B flat minor (original version, 1879)
~ Interval ~
Igor StravinskyThe Rite of Spring


Thomas Dausgaard – Conductor
Kirill Gerstein – piano

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and its Chief Conductor Designate Thomas Dausgaard round off this weekend’s Stravinsky/Scottish series with the work that changed music for ever. In The Rite of Spring rhythm was shockingly prioritised over harmony - and pounding, jagged, brutal rhythm at that.

One of The Rite’s most impactful relatives is the Scythian Suite by Stravinsky’s compatriot Prokofiev, a blazing orchestral canvas that forms the perfect foil to the heartfelt beauty of Tchaikovsky’s charming First Piano Concerto, performed by Kirill Gerstein in a new critical edition which, he says, ‘allows us to return to Tchaikovsky’s original intentions’.

Prom 31

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.