Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Jean SibeliusFinlandia, Op.26
Jean SibeliusSymphony no.1 in E minor, Op.39
~ Interval ~
Jean SibeliusSymphony no.2 in D major, Op.43


Thomas Dausgaard – Conductor

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Celebrations for Sibelius’s 150th anniversary continue with a complete symphony cycle, launched by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and its new Chief Conductor Designate, Thomas Dausgaard. The First Symphony is prefaced by the nationalistic tone-poem Finlandia, its singing central melody composed with an ear to mass appeal as well as to political protest. The First Symphony is no apprentice work; although drawing on the legacy of Tchaikovsky and Brahms, Sibelius created something distinctively and evocatively Nordic. Still more sophisticated is the Second, often heard as a musical shout of grief and rage at Russian oppression.

Prom 40: Sibelius – Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.