Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Franz SchubertSymphony no.4 in C minor 'Tragic', D.417
Luke BedfordInstability: BBC commission: world premiere
~ Interval ~
Anton BrucknerMass no.3 in F minor, WAB 28


Juanjo Mena – Conductor
Luba Orgonášová – Soprano
Jennifer Johnston – mezzo-soprano
Robert Dean Smith – Tenor
Derek Welton – bass-baritone

BBC Philharmonic
Orfeón Pamplonés

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Although composed for the church, it is in the concert hall that the dramatic scale of Bruckner’s mighty Mass in F minor comes into its own. A new commission from Luke Bedford puts the Royal Albert Hall’s great organ in the spotlight, while opening the concert is Schubert’s ‘Tragic’ Symphony - a work whose heart-on-sleeve emotions are those of a composer still in his teens.

Prom 20: Schubert, Luke Bedford & Bruckner

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.