Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Carl NielsenOverture 'Helios'
Johannes BrahmsViolin Concerto in D major, Op.77
~ Interval ~
Carl NielsenThree Motets
Carl NielsenHymnus amoris
Carl NielsenSymphony no.2, 'The Four Temperaments'


Fabio Luisi – Conductor
Nikolaj Znaider – violin
Anna Lucia Richter – Soprano
David Danholt – Tenor

Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Danish National Concert Choir
Choristers of Winchester Cathedral

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Continuing our celebration of Nielsen’s 150th anniversary, his Second Symphony is an exercise in contrasting moods and textures - the ‘Temperaments’ of the subtitle are the Humours of Greco-Roman medicine: Choleric, Phlegmatic, Melancholic and Sanguine. Less familiar are Nielsen’s choral works - the swelling loveliness of Hymnus amoris, inspired by a Titian painting, and the Three Motets that pay homage to Renaissance polyphony. Completing the programme is Brahms’s warmly Romantic Violin Concerto, with Danish-Israeli Nikolaj Znaider.

Prom 46: Danish National Symphony Orchestra

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.