Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Sergei ProkofievSymphony no.1 in D major 'Classical', Op.25
Qigang ChenIris dévoilée
~ Interval ~
Sergei RachmaninovSymphony no.2 in E minor, Op.27


Xian Zhang – Conductor
Meng Meng – Soprano
Anu Komsi – Soprano
Piia Komsi – Soprano
Jia Li – pipa
Jing Chang – zheng
Nan Wang – erhu

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Following last night’s Prokofiev piano concerto cycle, tonight’s Prom opens with the Russian’s bright and joyous ‘Classical’ Symphony, which surprised critics of the young firebrand composer with its formal elegance. It’s paired with Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony - beloved for its intimate, lyrical slow movement. Rachmaninov might be the original composer of the ‘big tune’, but it’s an instinct China’s Qigang Chen - a pupil of Messiaen - shares. East and West come together for his evocative Iris dévoilée, pairing traditional Chinese instruments with Western harmonies.

Prom 15: Prokofiev, Qigang Chen & Rachmaninov

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.