Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Frederick DeliusIn a Summer Garden
Carl NielsenClarinet Concerto, Op.57
~ Interval ~
Hugh WoodEpithalamium: BBC commission: world premiere
Maurice RavelDaphnis et Chloé, Suite no.2


Sir Andrew Davis – Conductor
Mark Simpson – clarinet

BBC Symphony Orchestra
BBC Symphony Chorus

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Afternoon heat breeds musical languor in a Prom that drifts from Delius’s summer garden to the classical landscapes of Ravel’s lovers Daphnis and Chloe. Former BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist Mark Simpson is the soloist in anniversary composer Nielsen’s intimate, playful Clarinet Concerto. Hugh Wood’s Epithalamium is a new cantata that delights in John Donne’s sensuous and jubilant verse.

Prom 7: Delius, Nielsen, Hugh Wood & Ravel

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.