Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Carl NielsenSpringtime on Funen
Carl NielsenViolin Concerto, Op.33
~ Interval ~
Joseph Philbrick WebsterIn the Sweet By and By
Charles ZeunerYe Christian Heralds
Simeon B. MarshJesus, Lover of My Soul
Lowell MasonBethany
Charles IvesSymphony no. 4


Malin Christensson – Soprano
Ben Johnson – Tenor
Neal Davies – bass-baritone
Andrew Litton – Conductor
Henning Kraggerud – violin
William Wolfram – piano

Tiffin Boys' Choir
Tiffin Girls' Choir
BBC Singers
Crouch End Festival Chorus
BBC Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Ives’s Fourth Symphony demands massive orchestral forces and quotes from his own earlier works as well as from traditional American hymns. Completing this year’s Nielsen concerto cycle is the Violin Concerto - a work that wears its technical demands with great delicacy. Nielsen also provides the concertopener, the folk-inspired choral cantata Springtime on Funen.

Prom 72: Nielsen & Ives

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.