Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Igor StravinskyOctet
Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Concerto no.2 in B flat major, Op.19
~ Interval ~
Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Concerto no.5 in E flat major 'Emperor', Op.73 (arr. Lachner)


Leif Ove Andsnes – piano / director

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Leif Ove Andsnes and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra complete their cycle of Beethoven Piano Concertos with Nos. 2 and 5 - the composer’s first and final experiments in the genre.

In No. 2 a spacious and lovely central Adagio is framed with Mozartean grace in the outer movements, while the Fifth is the composer’s last word on the subject - a musical emancipation of the soloist that anticipates the Romantic concertos of Beethoven’s successors. Looking to the musical past for inspiration once again, Stravinsky’s Octet pastiches the forms and textures of the 18th century, colouring them with a mood and mischief all his own.

Prom 12: Leif Ove Andsnes and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.