Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


Jean SibeliusSymphony no.3 in C major, Op.52
Jean SibeliusViolin Concerto in D minor, Op.47
~ Interval ~
Michael FinnissyJanne: BBC commission: world premiere
Jean SibeliusSymphony no.4 in A minor, Op.63


Ilan Volkov – Conductor
Julian Rachlin – violin

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The Proms’ Sibelius symphony cycle continues with the concise, intricately wrought Third and the darker Fourth - once described by conductor Herbert Blomstedt as ‘an essay in trying to be happy which fails - on purpose’. These are paired with the composer’s popular Violin Concerto with Lithuanian soloist Julian Rachlin. Conductor Ilan Volkov is a passionate champion of contemporary music and here premieres a new Sibelius-inspired work by Michael Finnissy - a composer whose music, though fascinatingly complex, finds real connection with politics, society and culture.

Prom 42: Sibelius – Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.