Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Albert Hall
Kensington Gore


William WaltonSpitfire Prelude and Fugue
Ralph Vaughan WilliamsConcerto Accademico
Grace WilliamsFairest of Stars
~ Interval ~
Edward ElgarOverture 'Froissart', Op 19
William WaltonSymphony no. 2


Tadaaki Otaka – Conductor
Chloë Hanslip – violin
Ailish Tynan – Soprano

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Elgar’s Froissart overture throbs with national pride and swagger, while Walton’s Second Symphony sustains an altogether darker, more contemplative mood. British violinist Chloë Hanslip is the soloist in Vaughan Williams’s rarely heard Concerto accademico - a work whose lyrical slow movement and dancing finale are anything but ‘academic’. The concert also features Welsh composer Grace Williams’s ecstatic, neo-Straussian Fairest of Stars for soprano and orchestra, a musical celebration of Milton’s poetry.

Prom 26: British Composers

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.